Home | Articles
Published on:27th Dec, 2014
Indian Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, 2015; 49(2):134-139
Pharmaceutical Research | doi:10.5530/ijper.49.2.9

Critical Micelle Concentration of Surfactant Using Hadkar Factor

Authors and affiliation (s):

Ulhas Balkrishna Hadkar* and Asavari Sameer Hadkar

Department of Pharmaceutics Mumbai Educational Trust’s Institute of Pharmacy, Bandra (w), Mumbai – 400 50. (M.S.), INDIA.


Critical micelle concentration is an important characteristic property of a surfactant and various methods such as osmotic pressure, surface tension, interfacial tension, UV-Visible spectrophotometry have been reported to determine it. The drop weight method was used to determine the Hadkar factor H1 for organic liquid lighter than water and Hadkar factor H2 was used for organic liquid heavier than water. The plot of H1 or H2 vs concentration of the aqueous surfactant solution was used to determine the critical micelle concentration of the surfactant. Interfacial tension between the aqueous surfactant solution and the organic liquid was also determined using Hadkar factors H1 and H2.

Key words: Drop weight method, Hadkar factors, Interfacial tension, critical micelle concentration, surfactant,



Impact Factor

IJPER - An Official Publication of Association of Pharmaceutical Teachers of India is pleased to announce continued growth in the 2019 Release of Journal Citation Reports (source: 2018 Web of Science Data).


Impact Factor® as reported in the 2018 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2019): 0.425

User login

The Official Journal of Association of Pharmaceutical Teachers of India (APTI)
(Registered under Registration of Societies Act XXI of 1860 No. 122 of 1966-1967, Lucknow)

Indian Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and Research (IJPER) [ISSN-0019-5464] is the official journal of Association of Pharmaceutical Teachers of India (APTI) and is being published since 1967.


IJPER uses reference linking service using Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) by Crossref. Articles from the year 2013 are being assigned DOIs for its permanent URLs